Cookies on the NLCCE

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience and help us improve our website. By continuing to browse this site, you give consent for cookies to be used. For more details, including how you can amend your preferences, please click here.



NLCCE Member Jacqueline O’Donovan To Receive Presidential Distinguished Service Awards For The Irish Abroad For 2017

Jacqui (5)

Jacqueline O’Donovan, managing director of O’Donovan Waste Disposal, is to receive the Presidential Distinguished Service Awards for the Irish Abroad for her support of the Irish Community.

The Awards, established in 2011 following the Global Irish Economic Forum, recognise the contribution of members of the Irish community abroad. Announcing the 2017 recipients, Republic of Ireland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Mr Simon Coveney, T.D. said:
“I am delighted to have the opportunity to formally recognise the achievements of these ten members of our diaspora. These remarkable people have provided a sustained service and commitment to Ireland and Irish communities abroad, and it is fitting that they have been selected to be honoured by the President. The diverse contributions of these individuals extends across six different categories, and the impact of their work and dedication is evident across a number of countries.”

Jacqueline O’Donovan is MD of O’Donovan Waste Disposal and has grown the company to be one of London’s leading independent waste management companies. She is a highly respected and successful member of the Irish business community and is a prominent and active member of a number of Irish business networks. She is passionate about her Irish heritage, reflected in the extraordinary work she does for the Irish community in London, including her role as Trustee for the Irish Youth Foundation as well as Executive Board Member of the Women’s Irish Network.

She has been a very generous supporter of a number of Irish charities including the London Irish Centre, London Irish Film Festival, Irish in Britain, and Innisfree Housing Association to name a few.
In 2016 she was honoured with the special Outstanding Commitment to Innovation Award by the British Irish Trading Alliance, recognising her outstanding leadership and dedication to mentoring.
Minister for Diaspora Affairs and International Development, Ciarán Cannon T.D., said:
As Minister of State for the Diaspora I am aware of the profound impact our global family has had around the world in a variety of fields. There were 95 nominations for these awards this year, and the level and breadth of the achievements of the people nominated are, by any measure, remarkable.”
“That the recipients of these awards represent Ireland to the world should be an immense source of pride to all of us, as it is to me, and I am glad that we have the opportunity to acknowledge them as such.”

The full list of recipients of the Presidential Distinguished Service Awards in 2017 is:

Arts, Culture and Sport
Bernard Canavan (Britain)
Liam Neeson (US)

Business and Education
Patricia Harty (US)

Charitable Works
Denis Mulcahy (US)
Mary T. Murphy (Ethopia)

Irish Community Support
Hideki Mimura (Japan)
Jacqueline O’Donovan (Britain)

Peace, Reconciliation and Development
John de Chastelain (Canada)
Marianne Elliot (Britain)

Science, Technology and Innovation
William Campbell (US)

The Awards will be presented later this year by President Higgins.

« News archive